DUBBO REGIONAL MUSEUM
HISTORY OF THE DUBBO REGIONAL MUSEUM
The museum collection originated in 1954 in Andy Graham’s backyard shed in Wingewarra Street. It quickly outgrew the premises and the council approved the use of the Drill Hall in Darling Street in 1956 as a museum. From here it outgrew itself once again and in 1964 it was relocated to Macquarie Street at the former Bank of NSW building (1876-1918).The Museum was set up as a pioneer Museum and in 1972 a “Village Square” was created. In 2001 following a major storm the museum suffered flood damage and had to be closed. The collection was stored at the airport where many of the large objects remain today. Around the same time as the flood, Dubbo City Council bought the Dubbo High School site from the Department of Education for the express purpose it be developed into a cultural facility. Today the museum collection lives in the school hall of what use to be Dubbo High School.Dubbo Regional Museum features two distinct spaces – a permanent space devoted to the story of Dubbo entitled People Places Possessions: Dubbo Stories and a temporary exhibition space for travelling and in-house curated exhibitions.
PEOPLE PLACES POSSESSIONS
Dubbo Stories presents showcases devoted to the people of Dubbo through time. A photographic streetscape features images of the changing face of the city, together with a White Box tree installed in the centre of the space. A large showcase containing possessions from the collection features at one end of the Museum offering a treasure trove of items from past eras. There are over 5000 objects in the Dubbo Regional Museum collection, People Places Possessions: Dubbo Stories presents a sample of these.
For further information regarding Dubbo Regional Museum please contact WPCC on 02 6801 4444.